"History teaches us that men and nations behave wisely once they have exhausted all other alternatives"

Abba Eban
"Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs."

The Report of the U.N. Brundtland Commission, Our Common Future, 1987
"Then I say the Earth belongs to each generation during its course, fully and in its right no generation can contract debts greater than may be paid during the course of its existence"

Thomas Jefferson, September 6, 1789

1st LA SDEWES Conference will be held at the School of Chemistry / Escola de Química - UFRJ (concorse E), Av. Athos da Silveira Ramos, 149 - Cidade Universitária, Rio de Janeiro.

Opening session and invited lecture on Monday, January 29, will be held in another venue, at Fundação Coppetec, R. Muniz de Aragão, 360 - Bloco 1 - Ilha do Fundão - Cidade Universitária, Rio de Janeiro.

The following is an early informational draft version of the schedule. When authors register, and parallel sessions are formed, the final schedule will be created.
If you have any doubts or questions on the schedule do send an email to:

Note that some changes can still be made to the schedule. This page holds the current schedule of the conference.

find your session:

(enter paper id or surname and hit Enter)

Sunday, January 28
1830 - 2030
Monday, January 29
800 - 930
Registration (Fundação Coppetec)
930 - 1030
Opening session (Fundação Coppetec)
Chair: Prof. Eduardo SERRA

------ Welcome address ----- 

  • Prof. Zvonimir Guzović, Dean,  Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture, University of Zagreb
  • Prof. Eduardo Mach Queiroz, Director of the School of Chemistry - UFRJ
  • Prof. Marcus de Almeida Lima, President of the Rio de Janeiro Institute for the Emvironment - INEA
  • Prof. Denise Nascimento, Vice Rector, UFRJ

----- Introductory Addresses ----- 

  • Prof. Heitor Gurgulino de Souza, President of the World Academy of Art and Science
  • Prof. Wanderley de Souza, Secretary of Sciences, Technology and Innovation of the State of Rio de Janeiro
  • Prof. Neven Duić, President of SDEWES Centre
1030 - 1100
Coffee break (Fundação Coppetec)
1100 - 1200
1200 - 1300
1300 - 1500
Parallel sessions
Life Cycle Assessment and Cleaner Production 1 (ROOM A - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Luiz Kulay
Co-chair(s): Prof. Biagio F. Giannetti
Energy policy (ROOM C - UFRJ)
Co-chair(s): Mr. Velimir Segon
Buildings (ROOM D - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Vesna Žegarac Leskovar
Co-chair(s): Dr. John Kaiser Calautit
Alternative fuels (ROOM E - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Carlos Chernicharo
Co-chair(s): Dr. Szymon Kuczyński
Thermal power plants/Cogeneration (ROOM F - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Carlos Belchior
Co-chair(s): Dr. Douglas Bressan Riffel
Sustainability topics 1 (ROOM G - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Valerio Lo Brano
Co-chair(s): Ms. Natalia Cano
1500 - 1530
Coffee break
1530 - 1730
Parallel sessions
Small hydropower and development (ROOM B - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Rudi Henri van Els
Co-chair(s): Prof. Alexandre Mesquita
Renewable energy resources 1 (ROOM C - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Pietro Zunino
Co-chair(s): Mr. Saief Alimoestar
Water-energy nexus (ROOM D - UFRJ)
Co-chair(s): Ms. Priscila Carvalho
Sustainability comparisons and measurements 1 (ROOM E - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Makoto Kobayashi
Co-chair(s): Mr. Luca Coscieme
Waste and wastewater treatment and reuse 1 (ROOM F - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Maria Daniela Tenev
Co-chair(s): Mr. Thiago Bressani Ribeiro
Environment and sustainability (ROOM G - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Gisele Blak Bernat
Co-chair(s): Dr. Rami El-Emam
Tuesday, January 30
800 - 900
900 - 1100
Parallel sessions
Life Cycle Assessment and Cleaner Production 2 (ROOM A - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Luiz Kulay
Co-chair(s): Prof. Biagio F. Giannetti
Renewable energy resources 2 (ROOM D - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Liliana Rusu
Co-chair(s): Ms. Juliana Mattos Bohrer Santos
Sustainability comparisons and measurements 2 (ROOM E - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Daniele Pretolani
Co-chair(s): Mr. João Paulo Barata
Energy system analysis (ROOM F - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Eugen Rusu
Co-chair(s): Mr. João Pedro Duveen da Cunha
Sustainability topics 2 (ROOM G - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Antonella Lombardi Costa
Co-chair(s): Ms. Daniela de Faria
1100 - 1130
Maglev train test rides
Coffee break
1130 - 1230
1230 - 1400
1400 - 2200
Wednesday, January 31
800 - 900
900 - 1100
Parallel sessions
Sustainable combustion (ROOM A - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Milan Vujanović
Co-chair(s): Prof. Mário Costa
Prof. Guenther Carlos Krieger Filho
Energy efficiency (ROOM C - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Zvonimir Guzović
Co-chair(s): Ms. Raquel Pacheco
Renewable energy generation systems (ROOM D - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Goran Krajačić
Co-chair(s): Mr. Kariston Alves
Water (ROOM E - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Elisa Henning
Co-chair(s): Mr. Lucas Vassalle de Castro
Environmental policy and management (ROOM F - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Nuno Simões
Co-chair(s): Ms. Manuella da Silva
Sustainability comparisons and measurements 3 (ROOM G - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Humberto Brandi
Co-chair(s): Mr. Pedro Carvalho
1100 - 1130
Coffee break
1130 - 1230
1230 - 1400
1400 - 1600
Parallel sessions
Catalysis for Sustainable Chemical and Bio-chemical Processes (ROOM A - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Rita Maria Brito Alves (tbc)
Co-chair(s): Dr. Thiago Hewer
Smart energy systems (ROOM B - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Tomislav Pukšec
Co-chair(s): Mr. Angelo I Aquino
Renewable energy resources 3 (ROOM C - UFRJ)
Chair: Dr. Thusitha Sugathapala
Co-chair(s): Mr. Andy Aboikoni
Biofuels and biorefineries (ROOM D - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Martin Olazar
Co-chair(s): Ms. Ana María Naranjo Herrera
Waste and wastewater treatment and reuse 2 (ROOM E - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Mehdi Nemati
Co-chair(s): Mr. Hugo Sakamoto
Primary energy resources (ROOM F - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Huiming Zou
Co-chair(s): Mr. Tomasz Wlodek
Desenvolvimento Sustentável/Desarrollo Sostenible (ROOM G - UFRJ)
Chair: Prof. Elaine Vazquez
Co-chair(s): Ms. Sueli Oliveira
1600 - 1630
Coffee break
1630 - 1700
Closing session
Chair: Prof. Eduardo SERRA


Benchmarking the performance of cities across energy, water and environment systems
related metrics presents an opportunity to trigger policy learning, action, and cooperation to bring cities closer to sustainable development.